宣教士心理評估

協助宣教士的需要

據統計,在全球差派出去的宣教士當中有47%的宣教士在五年之內提早退出工場。提早退出的原因有很多,但多半的原因是可避免的,比如:和同工合作的糾紛、家庭問題、無法適應跨文化的壓力等。宣教士和一般人一樣,也是會有軟弱掙扎的時候。在工場上,他們必須面對的很多困境是一般非跨文化同工不常面對的,比如感覺孤單隔離,耗盡怠倦,理想幻滅,文化語言適應困難,又缺乏支持和資源去面對這些問題。經過了多年的經驗告訴我們,在離開本國前未處理的包袱會在出國宣教時使宣教士更加困擾折磨,而那時卻又缺乏適當的資源去處理那些問題。而且,當我們在宣教服事神時,我們會面臨屬靈的爭戰,讓我們更容易軟弱。「加利利成長協談中心」了解宣教士必須面臨的種種挑戰,並希望能協助宣教士很成功健康的做跨文化的宣教事工。

跨文化的宣教事工會面臨的獨特挑戰不是每個人都可以承擔的。為了確保宣教士能夠長期的留在工場上,且健康又有效的服事,我們事先需要評估想要當宣教士的候選人是否適合做跨文化的事工,也確認候選人的情緒是否穩定、心理預備是否足夠去面對跨文化宣教事工的壓力。這事前的預備是為了預防提早退出的損傷和後果。不管是對於個人、家人、和差派機構或教會,不健全的宣教士提早歸家都會帶來很大的損失,不只是當下,甚至是長久的傷害。如果能在離國前先處理這些包袱,事先做準備預防,會對每位參與的人都有幫助。

為了能充分的預備宣教士做跨文化事工,我們強力建議在離開本國前的3到6個月前要做「宣教士心理評估」。加利利提供的宣教士心理評估包括全球最常使用、有研究證明的評估測驗,特別為了針對宣教士在工場上會面臨到的挑戰,讓候選人更多了解自己的優點、需要成長的地方、他們在團體中合作的模式、和他們面對壓力的直覺反應。候選人能透過測驗更了解自己,還能學習更健康抗壓的方法。我們建議的評估需要4到6次的約談,每週1.5到2個小時與專業的輔導師協談。因為版權的因素,這些評估需要收基本費。請查詢 (04) 2236 1901,我們可以提供更詳細的資訊。

宣教士心理評估包括:

* 臨床訪談,專注於離開前的心理準備及以後宣教的挑戰,
* 明尼蘇達多相人格測驗(第二版本),辨認在壓力下常見的反應,
* 邁爾斯-布里格斯性格分類測試(G版),了解個人個性和成長點,
* 人際關係基本取向行為測驗,學習如何與人互動,
* 國際性價值觀評估(CCG修正版),了解個人的價值觀和宣教職場的差距。

加利利成長協談中心的宗旨是為了能夠幫助宣教士,牧者,教會同工個人及其家庭能夠更有能力面對各樣挑戰,達成更健康有效的服事。我們希望每位宣教士和他們的家人在身、心、靈 上都是健康的。宣教士和他們的使命是非常重要的,而他們的身心健康更是不能忽略的。我們希望能協助裝備宣教士,讓他們能健全喜樂的服事,發揮所長,為神的國度做出更多的貢獻、討神喜悅。加利利希望透過這樣的宣教士心理評估可以對宣教士和差派教會提供不可替代的幫助和裝備,讓他們可以更了解自己,也明確的認知上帝賜與他們的獨特長處,讓宣教士能透過跨文化的宣教事工榮耀我們的主。

宣教士心理評估費用方針、理念與原由

賦予宣教士能力得以更有效的在其禾場服事是加利利成長協談中心最主要的任務之一。當宣教士 、宣教候選人以及其他宣教事工的同工等尋求上帝成為他們生命的主宰時,藉由訪談以及心理、人格與關係評估,我們能夠有效的幫助他們。當宣教同工瞭解並將其優勢發揮至最大限度、指出其弱點與盲點並建造面對宣教的健全壓力回應機制,他們將更完美的平衡宣教、家庭以及健全的自我保健。

我們不願財務成為攔阻我們事工的原因。 我們明確的承認上帝是我們的供應者,同時加利利成長協談中心的協談老師乃基於對我們恩主的愛與感恩來服事(約翰福音十三章 34-35 節)。經由多年的專業訓練與宣教經驗的人提供有效的訪談、評估並且聽取宣教候選人與其他宣教同工的匯報等,約需協談老師與加利利成長協談中心投入約十五小時來完成這些評估、進行關鍵的個人協談,製訂並製做必要的書面報告,這些都是必需的程序。

同樣的,我們呼籲宣教候選者,做為基督的跟隨者,建造對於祂會做財務的管家的信心(歌林多後書 八章 9-15 節)。 因此,加利利成長協談中心建議每人新台幣五仟元支付相關的心理評估表之購買以及其他相關資源。這些是用來支付給其他公司的使用或購買含版權材料的費用。

我們預估進行一個評估、製作報告以及匯報大約 需要付出每人新台幣兩萬元等值的人力。為使得加利利成長協談中心能夠為基督徒領袖提供此勞務密集的評估,我們提供您一個能夠藉由本中心向上帝奉獻的機會,使我們能夠持續成為他人的祝福。您超出設施使用費的自由奉獻將有助於營運費、同工的培訓以及持續的事工。

設施使用費新台幣五仟元  + 藉由加利利成長協談中心向上帝奉獻  =  加利利成長協  談中心費用

懇請用禱告的心來思想您能夠喜樂的給予加利利成長協談中心多少,並且做出相應的奉獻。並了解您的禮物就是對加利利成長協談中心、對您以及那些跟隨您腳 步的人的祝福。各人要隨本心所酌定的,不要作難,不要勉強,因為捐得樂意的人是神所喜愛的。–歌林多後書九章 7 節

Missionary Candidate Evaluation

Missionaries Need Our Support

Did you know, 47% of long-term missionaries leave the field within the first 5 years? Mostly due to preventable causes, such as team dynamic problems, family issues, and difficulty handling stress and adjusting to the culture. Missionaries are just ordinary people, not superheroes who never struggle. On the field, they face difficulties, including isolation, burnout, disappointments, cultural/language adjustment, lack of support and resources. We have also seen that issues which were not resolved in the home country, often become more debilitating once they’re on the field, and they often lack the necessary resources and support to cope with the issues. Moreover, we are aware of the spiritual warfare that takes place when we seek to serve our Lord. We at CCG understand the challenges of serving cross-culturally, and we have a passion to help missionaries serve well and stay healthy.

It is important to evaluate how suitable a person is for cross-cultural ministry, and how emotionally ready they are to handle the stresses of missionary work. Our goal is that missionaries will stay long-term, and be healthy and productive in the process. For missionaries who leave prematurely, it comes as a heavy cost with ongoing ramifications to the individual, their families, and their supporting ministry or church. It is better to find out what their problems are and get help before going on the field, before consequences become more costly.

In order to prepare missionaries well, it is vital for missionary candidates to be assessed, ideally 3-6 months before leaving on assignment. CCG offers a Missionary Evaluation package that includes widely used assessment tools, thoughtfully selected to help missionaries better understand their strengths and growth areas, how they work in team settings, and how best to respond in stressful situations. We recommend 4 to 6 sessions, 1.5-2 hours per week, with a professionally-trained counsellor to carry out the full assessment. Due to the usage of copy-righted assessments, there is a cost involved. Please contact us on (04) 2236 1901 for details.

The Missionary Evaluation package includes:

  • Clinical interviews, focused on understanding and preparing for future ministry challenges,
  • MMPI-2, the Minnesota Multi-Phasic Personality Inventory in current revision, focused on identifying responses to stressful situations,
  • MBTI, the Myers Briggs Type Indicator, form G, focused on understanding our personality preferences and developing our growth areas,
  • FIRO-B, Fundamental Interpersonal Relations Orientation, focused on learning how we interact with others,
  • IVI, Intercultural Values Inventory, as revised by CCG, focused on understanding our cultural values and how these may differ between people.

It is our vision at CCG to facilitate emotionally healthy spirituality amongst foreign and locally sent Christian missionaries and their families. The work missionaries do is important, and their health and wellbeing is crucial. We want to equip missionaries, so that they may stay, flourish, and contribute to their ministry calling. CCG wants to offer this evaluation to help missionaries, as well as their churches, to clearly identify their giftings, so that they are most useful and best equipped to glorify God through cross-cultural ministry.

Missionary Psychological Assessment Fee Policy, philosophy and rationale

Empowering missionaries to serve well on their field of service is one of our primary missions at CCG. Through interviews and psychological, personality and relationship assessments we can effectively assist missionaries, missionary candidates and other ministry co-workers as they seek God’s leadership in their lives. As ministry workers better understand and maximize their strengths, address weaknesses and blind-spots, and develop healthy responses to the stresses inherent in ministry, missionaries will become better equipped in balancing ministry, nurturing family, and healthful self-care.

We do not want finances to be a limiting factor to how we serve. We clearly acknowledge that God is our provider and our CCG counselors serve out of love and gratitude to our gracious God (John 13:34-35). It takes many years of professional and ministry experience to effectively interview, provide assessment, and debrief missionary candidates and other ministry workers. Furthermore, it takes about 15 hours for the counselor and CCG to process the assessments, conduct the vital personal consultations, then formulate and prepare the written report that is necessary for the process.

Likewise, we encourage missionary candidates, as followers of Christ, to develop a growing trust in God for His provision by being responsible financial stewards (2 Cor. 8: 9-15). Therefore, CCG asks for a NT$5,000 facilities fee per person for expenses related to psychological assessment purchasing and related resources. These are primarily costs paid to other companies for licensing fees to use and / or buy copyrighted materials.

We estimate that the actual cost of doing an assessment, report and the debriefing provided is approximately NT$20,000 per person. In order for CCG to provide this labor-intensive assessment for Christian leaders, we are offering you the opportunity to give to God through CCG so that we can continue to bless others. Your liberal donation, over and above the facility fee, helps with operational expenses, training, and ongoing service to coworkers.

Facilities Fee NT 5,000 + Offering to God via CCG = CCG Fee

Please prayerfully consider how much you can cheerfully give to CCG, and make a contribution accordingly. Know that your gift is a blessing to CCG, to you, and those who follow in your footsteps.
Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. — 2 Corinthians 9:7